EN  |  LT
The Joint Master's Programme in Comparative Social Policy and Welfare
A   A   A
Mykolas Romeris University
University of Tampere
Johannes Kepler University Linz

Programme » Curriculum

Joint Master of Comparative Social Policy and Welfare Curriculum, 2012-2014

Students are allocated ECTS credit points for the work done, which includes both self-study and contact hours. The Master’s Programme comprises 120 ECTS credits, which corresponds to a period of study of four semesters or two years, per the respective regulations governing the partner institutions.

The master program comprises the following courses:

Introduction to Master’s Degree Studies
|1 Scientific writting, 5 ECTS

European Welfare Regimes and Comparative Social Policy, 20 ECTS
All students are required to complete C1. In addition they must select three courses from C2 - C5.

C1 Theories of welfare states and comparative social policy: basic module, 5 ECTS
C2 Theories of Welfare States: extension module, 5 ECTS
C3 European social policy: extension module, 5 ECTS
C4 Approaches to Comparative Research and Social Policy, 5 ECTS
C5 Political Dynamics of Supranational Social Policy in Europe, 5 ECTS

National Systems of Work and Welfare

N1 Eastern European Model of work and social security, 5 ECTS
N2 Continental Model: Austrian System of Work and Social Security, 5 ECTS
N3 Nordic Model: Nordic Welfare societies, 5 ECTS

S Synthesis of welfare regimes and comparative social policy, 5 ECTS

Empirical Research Methodology and Methods, 15 ECTS

M1 Methodology of Social Research, 5 ECTS
M2 Quantitative Research methods, 5 ECTS
M3 Qualitative Research methods , 5 ECTS

Research areas of social policy, 10 ECTS
Students must select and complete courses worth a minimum of 10 ECTS credits in this section.

R1 Social demography, 5 ECTS
R2 Family policy, 5 ECTS
R3 Social inequality and exclusion, 5 ECTS
R4 Gender and social Ideas, 5 ECTS
R5 Work, employment and welfare, 5 ECTS

P Practicum / Internship, 10 ECTS

MT Master’s Thesis seminar and Master‘s Thesis , 40 ECTS